Working Men's College

W.D Caröe
Date Built
1904 - 1906
44 and 46, Crowndale Road
Historic England describe the building as being of, "... Red brick with stone dressings. Slate mansard roof with dormers.Tall brick chimney with louvred lantern (fume extract from chemistry laboratory). Asymmetrical facade in British Free Style. EXTERIOR: two storeys, attic storey and semi-basement. Sixteen windows and eight window return to Camden Street."

"Main entrance to right with stone portico having Ionic half columns carrying entablature and segmental pediment with enriched tympanum."

"Camden Street wing, ground floor, has main hall with stage, proscenium and panelling. First floor Library has barrel vaulted ceiling with glazed panel top lighting; five arcaded bays with arch at south end into recess; oak panelling and bookcases. Oak mantelpiece above marble fire surround. Bronze plaque above to Robert Henry Marks 1912."

The Wikipedia page for the Working Men's College says of this building that, "... The College developed a new building at Crowndale Road on a site purchased from Lord Camden; begun in July 1904, and partly occupied in 1905, it was formally opened by Sir William Anson in January 1906. The physical structure of the building at Crowndale Road was designed to reflect that found within university colleges. Large common spaces, Library, Common Room, Hall, Museum, and later The Charles Wright Common Room, promoted social and intellectual interaction between student, teacher and staff Members of College. There was no separate staff room. Specialist rooms such as science laboratories art and craft studios, lecture theatre, and a gymnasium were added in the 1930s, reflecting a desire to provide a broad educational experience."

Close Window