A-S:L - Austin-Smith: Lord

Austin-Smith: Lord say that their work is, "characterised by a commitment to design innovation, environmental responsibility and a desire to provide clients with an excellence of service which exceeds expectation... "Founded in 1949 Austin-Smith: Lord is a renowned multidisciplinary design consultancy with offices in Cardiff, Glasgow, Liverpool, London and Manchester."

John Rylands Library - 2007

This award winning project was designed to, "improve physical and intellectual access.  Austin-Smith: Lord designed the new extension containing a new main entrance, as well as a shop and cafe - intended to help attract a wider range of visitors".


3 Piccadilly Place - 2009

Sitting across London Road from Piccadilly Station and connected to it by the Piccadilly Curve Bridge, 3 Piccadilly Place is one of the components of the multi-use Piccadilly Place development.  A-S:L decribe it as a 13 storey building rising over three levels of basement parking that provides 200,000 sq ft of net office space.  They add that, "the development is the first building in the UK to be clad in TECU Brass, a CuZn 15-grade copper and zinc alloy that has been especially designed for use on facades.  Weathering changes the original reddish golden colour of the surface in a very lively manner with each facade developing its own unique characteristics."


The Monestery of St. Francis, Gorton - 2007

The Church and Friary of St. Francis was designed by Edward Pugin, son of August Pugin the architect who collaborated with Barrie on the Palace of Westminster.  The buildings sat unused for many years and along the way it was stripped of many of its important features and fell into a drastic state of decay.  Thanks to the efforts of local people the building was listed by the World Monuments Fund as one of the Hundred Most Endangered Monuments in the World and then it received the funding needed to make the building safe.  A-S:L restored the near derelict church and friary and extended and converted the building to form a new conference facilty with cafe.


The People's Museum, Left Bank

OMI Associates transformed a former hydraulic pumping station on the banks of the Irwell near Bridge Street to create the People's Museum.  In 2008 the museum closed to facilitate the addition of a new extension and modifications to the existing building.  A-S:L submitted a successful bid to "provide space for additional galleries, archives, a new conservation studio and improved public facilities."  Daniel Hambleton is the project architect on the People's Museum.  He says this about the building, "The final cassette panel material will be corten steel that will oxidise to form a patinated finish.  This weathering steel, developed predominantly for civil engineering and primary structural elements to building frames, will take 12 to 24 months to stabilise and will vary in colour over the following months from the bright orange to a mix of deep browns and auburn shades.   It has been selected for various carefully considered reasons, some being aesthetic, to emphasise the museums industrial and working class principles and the history of labour and to link with the industrial nature of the 1907 pump house. The material has been used for The Angel of the North, B of the Bang and a student residential scheme located next to the Mancunian Way.  It will create a unique gateway around the North East of the city and form an iconic image for the publicly accessed museum and its world class collections."

Here are a collection of photographs documenting the progress of the building's construction.

The existing pumphouse building

What the finished building will look like from the Left Bank side.

What it will look like from the river.
The photograph above is copyright Austin-Smith:Lord and is shown here with the permission of Daniel Hambleton

Below April 22, 2009